Friday, 5 June 2009

Warwickshire County Council Election Results

Voting to elect the 62 councillors to sit on Warwickshire County Council for the next four years took place on Thursday, and after the votes were counted the electors of Fosse ward did indeed vote "Morris-Jones for the County"! Phillip Morris-Jones was re-elected as county councillor for the area for another four years, returning to Shire Hall with an increased majority.

Across the whole of Warwickshire, the Conservatives won a decisive victory to gain a net of 12 extra seats and take overall control of the council for the first time since 1989, ending the day with a 16 seat majority over all other parties. A net gain of one seat for the Liberal Democrats, coupled with the loss of 13 seats for Labour, means that opposition in the Council Chamber will now be lead by the Lib Dems.

The political balance of power for the next four years will be:

The full result of the Fosse division election was:

  • Phillip Morris-Jones (Conservative) - 1,761
  • David Elson (Liberal Democrat) - 368
  • Robert Bevin (Labour) - 342
  • Paul Sandison (Green) - 322

No comments:

Post a Comment